Book Alert! ~ Wooing Mr. Wickham

The title of the second book in the Chawton House Library / Honno Press Jane Austen Short Story Award has been announced – the anthology will be released November 17, 2011.  Title?  Wooing Mr. Wickham.  [alas! – no cover image yet]

This year’s collection, which follows on from the huge success of the inaugural award set up in 2009 to celebrate the bicentenary of Jane Austen’s arrival at Chawton, takes as its point of inspiration the heros and villains in Jane Austen’s books. [from the Honno Press Newsletter]

Image: Brock, P&P - Molland's

The short list of authors was released on June 3, 2011 on the Chawton House Library website. Stay tuned for the winner and runners-up announcement!

This year’s Chair of the Judges is novelist Michele Roberts, who will write the introduction to the anthology. Ms. Roberts is the author of twelve highly acclaimed novels, including The Looking Glass and Daughters of the House, which was short-listed for the Booker Prize and won the W.H Smith Literary Award. You can learn more at the Michele Roberts website.

Wooing Mr. Wickham is available for pre-order at WHSmith –  or wait until it is available through either Chawton House Library or Honno Press directly.

Copyright @2011 by Deb Barnum. of Jane Austen in Vermont

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s